It’s funny how a major project can take on a life of its own. It’s easy to become a servant to it depending on any other commitments you may have, and the amount of time involved flirts with enormity. But at the end of the day it’s something that requires nurturing and care if one wants to be taken seriously.

To look back within this blog and see that this project has spanned the past eight months is inaccurate in of itself. OurGlass was partially written before it became my college project. That being said, it was in such a raw, unpolished format that a ten-year-old would have had a heyday with a red pen. As of this moment, OurGlass is being evaluated by my professional advisor and literature extraordinaire, Chris Petty. The manuscript is 97 pages and for the most part, unformatted. Due to the atomic level of activity that college has been the past 40 days or so, I was unable to submit OurGlass as a complete story from beginning to end.

From this point forward, my focus can be directed to complete my stated goal.

In three short weeks, I will be entering semester four of Creative Communications. I anticipate this semester to be less demanding than the past three months, but that being said, I’m sure it will be no walk in the park. If testimonials from past grads are any measure, semester four has much more breathing room. This is where my focus shall lie. As the first three weeks of January will be in work placement, I anticipate having my evenings back and a more time to complete this project to acceptable standards.

My focus will change for this blog as well. I’ve offered enough teasers on the story-line up to this point, so no new content from the novel will be posted here. In its place, though probably less exciting, will be progress reports on the status of the novel and how my project was assessed by my aforementioned advisor. Beyond this, there are several things that need to be considered outside of the actual writing of OurGlass and I will address them all here. These things to consider are: printing, publication, presentation, and readings. Several of my classmates are writing novels as well, and there have been discussions as to how we may work together in some of these areas. I am excited for the level of time and energy I’m now able to commit to OurGlass, and I’ll keep you posted regularly to my progress.